Mega Man for Smash Bros.

Mission Complete!

NCFC Review #3: Megaman: Day in the Limelight 2

Megaman: Day in the Limelight 2, by Fusion Team, was by far my favorite of the three Mega Man games showcased at NCFC. While I have seen footage of the first game, I never got around to playing it. However, who could pass up getting to play as the colorful cast of Robot Masters from Mega Man 2? Not me!

First off, I have to say, playing through the game conjured up bittersweet thoughts of Mega Man Universe. While you do not mix and match parts in Day in the Limelight 2, you do get to experience playing as Robot Masters with their unique abilities and movement stats. Wood Man is slow and stubby, Quick Man is fast and aerodynamic, and Bubble Man waddles around like duck until you get him into some water. Man, playing as Bubble Man in water is the greatest thing. If you can only try one level, try Bubble Man’s, seriously.

For my playthrough, I went with Heat Man first instead. While Heat Man’s special abilities are pretty cool, his level is fairly difficult. Well, technically, it’s Magnet Man’s level. That’s another wonderful thing about Day in the Limelight 2: you get to play as Robot Masters from Mega Man 2, fighting against Robot Masters from Mega Man 3. It’s like  perfect match. Anywho, all the disappearing blocks and magnets were too much for me, and I flopped.

The first level I actually managed to beat was Top Man’s, where you get to play as Flash Man. I really have to give a big thumbs up to the way special powers are implemented in this game, as they all use the two button setup while still being creative. For Flash Man, you have to stand in place and charge up a Time Stop, which lasts for awhile before it dies out and your energy bar has to refill. Not having to worry about energy containers changes the game experience a bit, and helps make playing Mega Man all the more fun.

After you beat a level, you get the opportunity to play as the Robot Master who completed the level in any other stage. I am a little sad there are no Robot Masters from Mega Man 2 with wings, as I really needed someone who could fly for that accursed Wood Man/Spark Man stage. I finally managed to beat it at the end, but it really is a challenge, and can test your patience if you hate jumping on those rising platforms with spikes above you, pits below you, and projectiles going everywhere.

I could go on and on about all the good points of this game, which is why I highly suggest checking it out, unless you just want to wait for the final release to play it all. There were a few glitches here and there, namely stuff that happens with the Time Stopper, so hopefully those can all get ironed out in the future. Otherwise, it was just a really fun and fresh experience, and I commend Team Fusion on a job well done.

2 Comments

  1. Yellow Devil

    I love this game so much.

    Quickman and Flashman are your saviors here, but it’s a shame that Flashman’s time stopping doesn’t work outside Topman’s level. I have yet to beat Spark Man, those jumps really are hard. Heatman helps, but Magnetman is one of the hardest bosses thanks to that ceiling gimmick.

  2. sbq92

    I really enjoyed this! I found, however, that one I got Quick Man, the rest of the game was a lot easier, and I found Quick Man was one of the easiest to obtain. Overall very nice, though. I’m looking forward to seeing the benefit of collecting all 8 of those special chip things (or whatever they are), as they don’t seem to do anything yet.

Leave a Reply

